Ron Russell Middle School
Translation by Google
  • English

Our School

February 16th, 2021

Shine Wherever!

Dear Ron Russell Families,

I hope everyone enjoyed the winter weather over the long weekend.  I hope everyone is staying safe.  Thank you for your patience as we deal with the uncertainty of power outages and internet connection issues. We have some very important events coming up in the two weeks. 

Supply/Chromebook Distribution:  Distribution for 8th graders had to be postponed to Tomorrow, February 17 from 3-6pm in the Gym.  Remember to bring your chromebook and charger to exchange.  We will be following COVID safety guidelines.  We ask that only students enter the gym, wear a mask, and adhere to social distancing.  Students may pick up materials from the main office if they were unable to make the specific time.    

Parent Conferences:  It is time to sign up for Semester 2 Parent Conferences.  Families should sign up for 10 minute appointments with their child’s teachers. 

  • The RRMS Conference Scheduling Document gives links to all our teachers’ calendars.
  • Click on the name of the teacher you would like to meet with.  That will bring you to that teacher’s calendar.  Scroll to the February 24th and 25th and select a time that works for you. Please put your child’s name in the appointment and save.
  • This How To Sign Up video will walk you through the process
  • Conferences will be held using Nicknames which are TeachernameConference.  You will not be sent a link for the appointments. 
  • If you have any questions, you can call our main office at 503-256-6519

Conference times are Wednesday, February 24th from 4-8pm and Thursday, February 25th 8-11a, 12-4pm, 5-8pm.  (No School Friday, February 26th.)  In order to accommodate all families, we ask that you keep each conference to under 8 minutes.  We look forward to meeting with you to discuss your child’s progress.

African American Affinity Group:  Due to internet and power issues for many families, we have postponed our next virtual meeting to Tuesday, February 23rd at 6:30pm.  We will continue our conversation from last time about how to support more diverse staff and developing positive and trusting relationships between staff, families, and students.  The link was emailed directly to families last week.  We will send it again.  If you did not get it, please call our main office.   

Library Pick Up:  There will be no curbside library pick up this week.  See you February 24th.

6th Grade TRIO:  TRIO is a community organization that helps students who are first generation going college students.  They help with college applications, scholarships, study skills, and career exploration.  6th grade students can attend a virtual information session this week or next.  To learn more about the opportunities with TRIO, please register at this link:  https://bit.ly/TRIO-ETS-InfoSessions

Black Male Challenge: REAP would like to invite RRMS students to attend our upcoming annual Black Male Challenge 2021 Rise Up event this Thursday, February 19th 1-3pm on Zoom. Students are strongly encouraged to register at Link for registration and to contact a REAP staff for further information at kevinm@reapusa.org.  The event will bring males of color from across the Portland Metro area to discuss empowerment and growth through engaging activities and discussion. 

Sincerely,

Michael Contreras

Principal, Ron Russell Middle School

Office Contacts

Summer Hours are Monday – Thursday, generally 8:00am-3:00pm. Call first to check.

503-256-6519

3955 SE 112th Ave
Portland, Oregon 97266

Fax: 503-761-7246

Google Map Directions

 

Principals
Michael Contreras

Vice Principals
Larry Tew – larry_tew@ddsd40.org
Jennifer Buscher

School Improvement Coordinator
Angie Ortiz-McNeese – angie_ortiz-mcneese@ddsd40.org

Counselors
Jenn Bolser – jenn_bolser@ddsd40.org

Caitlin Ludlow – caitlin_ludlow@ddsd40.org

Head Secretary
Jenny Foteff – jenny_foteff@ddsd40.org

Counseling Secretary
Chelli Berry – chelli_berry@ddsd40.org

Attendance Secretary
Melanie Webster – melanie_webster@ddsd40.org

DDSD Community We Need Your Input!
DDHS Principal Survey No thank you