Ron Russell Middle School
Translation by Google
  • English

Our School

Message from the Principal

September 27, 2022  

Dear Ron Russell Families,

We have started to settle into the school year and a greater focus on academic work. As students begin the school year, it is important they stay dedicated to their studies to find success in school. I can say our students are rising to the challenge.

Progress Grading: Student progress reports will be out soon. There will be no school Thursday, October 6th and Friday, October 7th for grading and staff professional development. Students should check with their teacher to make sure all their work is complete before progress grades are completed. 

Parent Conference Information: Parent Conferences are approaching quickly. Families will be able to meet with all their child’s teachers.The schedule is as follows.

  • Wednesday, October 12:  Late Start, 1pm Dismissal, Conferences 4-8pm
  • Thursday, October 13: Conferences 8am-8pm, lunch break noon-1pm, dinner break 4-5pm
  • Friday, October 14: No School

Hope to see you there. 

SUN After School Programs: SUN sign ups are now available. Our after school programming will consist of soccer, gaming, sewing, and much more.  Students can get a registration form in our main office or the SUN office. All forms are due Friday, October 7th.

Sick Students: A reminder that if your child is sick or exhibiting any symptoms, please keep them home. The wellness and safety of our school community is very important and we appreciate your support in keeping our school healthy. 

Tracker Party: Our first Tracker Party will be this Friday, September 30. This is a fun way to celebrate our students’ accomplishments every month. Students who are in good academic and disciplinary standing may attend. For our first party, students must have all their PBIS lessons from Advisory complete. If they are not, they should check in with their advisory teacher to complete the missing lessons. 

David Douglas Youth Cheer: Be part of one of the premiere cheer programs in the state. David Douglas Youth Cheer is having tryouts. All interested 5th-8th graders are invited to tryout on October 25, 27, 28 5:30-7:30pm in the David Douglas High School North Cafeteria. No experience required. For more information email ddyouthcheer@gmail.com  

Go Timberwolves!
Michael Contreras
Principal, Ron Russell Middle School

Office Contacts

Phone: 503-256-6519 | Fax: 503-761-7246
3955 SE 112th Ave, Portland, Oregon 97266
Google Map Directions
Fax: 503-761-7246

Principal
Michael Contreras | michael_contreras@ddsd40.org

Vice Principals
Meagan Lutu | meagan_lutu@ddsd40.org
Angie Ortiz-McNeese |
angie_ortiz-mcneese@ddsd40.org

School Improvement Coordinator
Mike Hermens | mike_hermens@ddsd40.org

Counselors
Jenn Bolser (M-Z) | jenn_bolser@ddsd40.org
Caitlin Ludlow (A-L) | caitlin_ludlow@ddsd40.org

Head Secretary
Leslie Farfan | leslie_farfan@ddsd40.org

Attendance Secretary
Melanie Webster | melanie_webster@ddsd40.org

Counseling Secretary
Alma Garcia | alma_garcia@ddsd40.org

Nov. 8 Ballot Learn More
Our Proposed Bond Measure No thank you