Ron Russell Middle School
Translation by Google
  • English

Our School

Shine Wherever!

June 8th, 2021

Dear Ron Russell Families,

We have just over a week left in school for this crazy year.  This newsletter will give you important information about the last week of school and summer opportunities.

Last Week of School:

  • Monday, June 14 Cohort A, Periods 1-4
  • Tuesday, June 15 Cohort B, Periods 1-4
  • Wednesday, June 16 Cohort A, Period 5-8
  • Thursday, June 17 Last Day, All Virtual
    • 10:00am Period 5
    • 10:20am Period 6
    • 10:40am Period 7
    • 11:00am Period 8
    • 11:20am Virtual Tracker Party
    • 12noon End of Day

8th Grade Parade: All 8th Graders are invited for a Good-bye drive thru celebration on Thursday, June 17th from 4-6pm.  There will be high school preparation materials as well as food, goodie bags, a selfie station, and a lot of Timberwolves Spirit.  Please bring your chromebook to return.  See you there 8th Graders. 

David Douglas High School Information:  8th Graders as you transition to DDHS, please watch this video with lots of great information about sports, activities, academics and so much more.  DDHS Info Video: https://youtu.be/-1bLc8JQ-i8

Library Book Return: Please help us get school library books back!  In-person students can bring them to their ELA teacher.  CDL students can drop them in the school office any school day between 8am and 3:30pm.  8th graders can also bring library books to the 8th Grade Parade on June 17th.  Thank you.  Any questions – carin_rosenberg@ddsd40.org

Summer Reading: The Multnomah County Library will be hosting their Summer Reading Program.  In-person students will receive a gameboard from their ELA teacher.  CDL students can sign up here https://multcolib.org/summer-reading or visit the Midland Branch for a gameboard.  In addition, every student in our district has access to free ebooks and audiobooks all summer long on our e-reading platform SORA. Using any web browser, go to https://soraapp.com/library/ddsdor.  You can also download the free Sora app on any mobile device!

Youth Sport Summer Camps:  David Douglas High School will have the following youth camps this summer:

  • Boys Basketball for Boys 2nd-10th grade
    • Monday, June 21st-Thursday, June 24th, 9am-12pm at DDHS North Gym (1001 SE 135th Ave )
    • Cost: $50 cash/check if registration form paid in advance – $60 if pay at the door – No credit cards accepted. Registration forms available at school/ by mail/ food pantry pick up, camp T-shirt included, bring water bottle and MASK! Contact: Chad Reeves  chad_reeves@ddsd40.org
  • Girls Basketball for Girls 3rd- 9th grade
  • Girls Soccer for Girls 3rd-8th grade
    • August 2nd-5th, Monday -Thursday, 6pm-8pm at High School Football Field (1500 SE 130th)
    • Contact: Amy McQueen  amy_mcqueen@ddsd40.org
  • High School Football for Girls & Boys 3rd-8th grade
    • August 9th-12th, Monday-Thursday, 10:30am-12:30pm (registration starts at 10:00am at the football field gate) at High school football field (1500 SE 130th)
    • Cost: $10 cash/check payable to DDHS football  Registration forms available at field day of camp/ school/ by mail/ food pantry pick up, camp T-shirt included, bring water bottle, sunblock, cleats are not mandatory. Contact: Suzie Albin  503-261-8369  suzie_albin@ddsd40.org 

Michael Contreras

Principal, Ron Russell Middle School

Office Contacts

Summer Hours are Monday – Thursday, generally 8:00am-3:00pm. Call first to check.

503-256-6519

3955 SE 112th Ave
Portland, Oregon 97266

Fax: 503-761-7246

Google Map Directions

 

Principals
Michael Contreras

Vice Principals
Larry Tew – larry_tew@ddsd40.org
Jennifer Buscher

School Improvement Coordinator
Angie Ortiz-McNeese – angie_ortiz-mcneese@ddsd40.org

Counselors
Jenn Bolser – jenn_bolser@ddsd40.org

Caitlin Ludlow – caitlin_ludlow@ddsd40.org

Head Secretary
Jenny Foteff – jenny_foteff@ddsd40.org

Counseling Secretary
Chelli Berry – chelli_berry@ddsd40.org

Attendance Secretary
Melanie Webster – melanie_webster@ddsd40.org