• English
Translation by Google
Andy

Our School

“The mission of the RRMS community is to continually provide a vibrant and safe learning environment that promotes acceptance, compassion, and respect.  We will inspire all students to love learning and to grow emotionally, socially, and intellectually.  We strive to educate each student to his or her highest level of academic excellence, social responsibility, and cultural awareness.”

Follow us on Twitter!Twitter_logo_blue

 

Dear Ron Russell Families,

Hopefully, by now, you’ve heard that David Douglas schools no longer qualify for 100% of our students to each lunch for free.  Although this is disappointing, we need to prepare as this change by the federal government is coming quickly.  You should have received an application in the mail.  If you wish to apply, please bring it to our main office by October 10th.  Families can begin to put money in their students’ lunch account now.  Lunch prices are $2.90.  You can do this online or you can bring money and deposit into your child’s account right at Ron Russell.  Applications for free or reduced lunches are available in our main office.

We’ve had a great start to our school year.  The three middle school years are very significant in your child’s overall school experience. They are making their way into adulthood and developing habits and friendships they will carry on the rest of their lives. We take this very seriously and are committed to doing everything we can to positively support their independence and promote academic success.

We have two big strengths working for us at RRMS. First, I believe we have the best kids in the state who walk through our front doors every morning ready to do their best in the classroom and willing to treat everyone around them with respect. Our second strength lies in our supportive, dedicated, and caring teachers and staff, who work tirelessly for the best interests of our students…your children! Come the second week in September, we will be ready for them! I feel extremely fortunate to be a part of this team and I look forward to our best year of learning yet.

The word is out about Ron Russell. Last school year, we again experienced our best attendance and lowest number of discipline referrals in school history. We were the only David Douglas school who showed improvement in reading, math, and science state testing scores from the previous year. Also, we were one of two DD schools to achieve a Level 4 in all three areas of our school report card.

This year, we are offering more interesting electives, such as Introductory Spanish, 2D Art Drawing and Painting, and MakerSpace, that will create a more balanced than ever educational experience for our students. We will continue to ensure that best teaching practices are used that promote student engagement, respect, and strong reading, writing, speaking, and problem-solving skills.

Our four school-wide behavior expectations continue to be that all students are Respectful, Responsible, Make good choices, and are Safe (RRMS). We refer to them on a daily basis. We believe these expectations set a tone for optimal learning and safety. With that said, one goal of ours is to provide your child with a smooth start to their school year. For more detailed information and important dates, please click on the link “Important School Information” on the right hand side of the our website under “Quick Links.”

We hosted Parent/Teacher Conferences this month.  Thank you to those of you who were able to attend.  However, don’t let that be the last of your communication with your child’s teacher.  If you have any questions or concerns (or compliments!), please do not hesitate to reach out to our school.

I appreciate the opportunity to say how unbelievably excited and honored I am to be in my sixth year as principal of Ron Russell Middle School.  By working together, we can ensure success for your child and prepare them for high school and beyond.

GO TIMBERWOLVES!

 

Sincerely,

Andy Long – Principal

Office Contacts

503-256-6519
3955 SE 112th Ave

Portland, Oregon 97266
Fax: 503-761-7246
Google Map Directions

 

Principal
Andy Long – andrew_long@ddsd40.org

Vice Principals
Larry Tew – larry_tew@ddsd40.org

Allen Browning – allen_browning@ddsd40.org

School Improvement Coordinator
Holly Schauer – holly_schauer@ddsd40.org

Counselors
Melissa Johnson – melissa_johnson@ddsd40.org

Caitlin Ludlow – caitlin_ludlow@ddsd40.org

Head Secretary
Sandy Hanna – sandy_hanna@ddsd40.org

Counseling Secretary
Chelli Berry – chelli_berry@ddsd40.org

Attendance Secretary
Ruth Lofthus – ruth_lofthus@ddsd40.org