• English
Translation by Google

Our School

“The mission of the RRMS community is to continually provide a vibrant and safe learning environment that promotes acceptance, compassion, and respect.  We will inspire all students to love learning and to grow emotionally, socially, and intellectually.  We strive to educate each student to his or her highest level of academic excellence, social responsibility, and cultural awareness.”

Follow us on Twitter!Twitter_logo_blue


Dear Ron Russell Families,

As we are knee-deep into fall, I’m excited to write that we are off to a great start to the 2015-2016 school year.  I am so proud of our staff and our amazing students.  The efforts they give in their classes and their focus to treat others the way they want to be treated is inspiring to see each and every day.  This overarching attitude of respect between our students and from our staff is something that makes RRMS a unique place to learn.  It is without question that I am honored to be in my fifth year as principal of Ron Russell Middle School.

As mentioned in the above paragraph, we have two big strengths working for us at RRMS. First, we have the best kids in the state who walk through our front doors every morning with a mission to attack the learning targets that our teachers have waiting for them.  This target will point them in the right direction for everything they are required to learn in their respective school year.  Our second strength lies in our supportive, dedicated, and caring teachers and staff, who work tirelessly for the best interests of our students…your children!  Neither our staff or our students are perfect, but we strive to get better everyday.

We have lots to be proud of as a RRMS community. Last school year, we again experienced our best attendance and lowest number of discipline referrals in school history. Also, our reading scores surpassed state averages on the Smarter Balanced Assessment in two of three grades. And…student reading growth was ranked highest of all schools in our school district!  Our solid learning gains were showcased in a recent article on Oregonlive where the author highlighted Ron Russell as one of a few middle schools in Oregon that exceeded expectations last year.  This year, we continue to ensure that best teaching practices are used to promote student engagement, respect, and strong reading, writing, speaking, and problem-solving skills.  To highlight the focus our staff has on this, we recently began a book study with our staff around improving our assessment practices, and just about 3/4 of our staff was willing to participate!  That’s RRMS!

Our four school-wide behavior expectations are that all students are Respectful, Responsible, Make good choices, and are Safe (RRMS). We take these expectations very seriously and refer to them on a daily basis. We believe these expectations set a tone for optimal learning and safety.  Our goal is to make your child’s 6th, 7th, or 8th grade year their best yet!  Look under “Important School Information” on the right side of this page to learn how to get this year started off right for your 6th, 7th, or 8th grader.

Fall Conferences are coming.  Please, please, please consider attending! By working together, we can ensure success for your child and prepare them for high school and beyond.


Andy Long

Office Contacts

3955 SE 112th Ave

Portland, Oregon 97266
Fax: 503-761-7246
Google Map Directions


Andy Long – andrew_long@ddsd40.org

Vice Principals
Larry Tew – larry_tew@ddsd40.org

Allen Browning – allen_browning@ddsd40.org

School Improvement Coordinator
Holly Schauer – holly_schauer@ddsd40.org

Melissa Johnson – melissa_johnson@ddsd40.org

Caitlin Ludlow – caitlin_ludlow@ddsd40.org

Head Secretary
Sandy Hanna – sandy_hanna@ddsd40.org

Counseling Secretary
Chelli Berry – chelli_berry@ddsd40.org

Attendance Secretary
Ruth Lofthus – ruth_lofthus@ddsd40.org