• English
Translation by Google
Andy

Our School

“The mission of the RRMS community is to continually provide a vibrant and safe learning environment that promotes acceptance, compassion, and respect.  We will inspire all students to love learning and to grow emotionally, socially, and intellectually.  We strive to educate each student to his or her highest level of academic excellence, social responsibility, and cultural awareness.”

Follow us on Twitter!Twitter_logo_blue

 

Due to summer construction at RRMS, our office staff and administration will be at housed at Earl Boyles Elementary starting June 28th.  Office hours will be 7:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.  Call or e-mail first if you would like to meet with an administrator to make sure we are there.  Come see us!

 

Our summer SUN program will be running out of Floyd Light Middle School this summer. 

 

Dear Ron Russell Families,

As our 2015-2016 school year ended, I continued to be so proud of our staff and our amazing students.  The efforts they gave in their classes and their focus to treat others the way they want to be treated was inspiring to see each and every day.  This overarching attitude of respect between our students and from our staff is something that makes RRMS a unique place to learn.

As mentioned in the above paragraph, we have two big strengths working for us at RRMS. First, we have the best kids in the state who walk through our front doors every morning with a mission to attack the learning targets that our teachers have waiting for them.  This target will point them in the right direction for everything they are required to learn in their respective school year.  Our second strength lies in our supportive, dedicated, and caring teachers and staff, who work tirelessly for the best interests of our students…your children!  Neither our staff or our students are perfect, but we strive to get better everyday.

We have lots to be proud of as a RRMS community. Unofficially this year, we experienced our best attendance and lowest number of discipline referrals in school history.  This includes a two percent drop in students with chronic attendance.  Also, our reading and math scores on the Smarter Balanced Assessment and our 8th grade OAKS science scores all improved from last year.  That’s huge!  More to come on this topic during the summer but we continued to ensure that best teaching practices were used to promote student engagement, respect, and strong reading, writing, speaking, and problem-solving skills.

Our four school-wide behavior expectations are that all students are Respectful, Responsible, Make good choices, and are Safe (RRMS). We take these expectations very seriously and refer to them on a daily basis. We believe these expectations set a tone for optimal learning and safety.  Our goal is always to make your child’s 6th, 7th, or 8th grade year their best yet!  Be sure and check out our Timberwolf Photo Gallery on our website.  These images help capture an awesome year of learning and fun at RRMS!

Below are some key dates for incoming 5th graders and current 8th graders:

Thursday, September 1st – 6th Grade Student and Family Orientation – 8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Wednesday, September 7th – First Day of School for 6th Graders – 9:30 a.m. start

Thursday, September 8th – First Day of School for 7th and 8th Graders – 8:00 a.m. start

GO TIMBERWOLVES!

Sincerely,
Andy Long

Office Contacts

503-256-6519
3955 SE 112th Ave

Portland, Oregon 97266
Fax: 503-761-7246
Google Map Directions

 

Principal
Andy Long – andrew_long@ddsd40.org

Vice Principals
Larry Tew – larry_tew@ddsd40.org

Allen Browning – allen_browning@ddsd40.org

School Improvement Coordinator
Holly Schauer – holly_schauer@ddsd40.org

Counselors
Melissa Johnson – melissa_johnson@ddsd40.org

Caitlin Ludlow – caitlin_ludlow@ddsd40.org

Head Secretary
Sandy Hanna – sandy_hanna@ddsd40.org

Counseling Secretary
Chelli Berry – chelli_berry@ddsd40.org

Attendance Secretary
Ruth Lofthus – ruth_lofthus@ddsd40.org